Job Admin levels are defined sets of permissions that are granted to Job Admin users on a per-job basis. Greenhouse Recruiting provides you the Job Admin: Standard and Job Admin: Private levels to start, but your team can edit these Job Admin levels, as well as create custom Job Admin levels, to configure permission sets that best match your team's needs.
Job Admin levels overview
Every time you assign a Job Admin user to a job, you must also choose which Job Admin level the user should have on that particular job.
Job Admin levels are created and managed at the organization level, meaning any changes to them will impact every user who is assigned to that Job Admin level on any job. They are comprised of permission stripes, which are individual permissions that can be assigned to or removed from each Job Admin level. Permission stripes include actions like Can change job post status and Can edit job info. Job Admin levels can be edited and created only by a Site Admin with the additional user-specific permission Can edit another user's advanced permissions.
Because one user can be assigned different Job Admin levels on different jobs, it is important to note that a Job Admin can only move a candidate to another job where they have permissions that are the same level or lower. A Job Admin cannot move a candidate to another job where their permissions are higher.
Similar logic also impacts the ability of Job Admin users to merge candidates and prospects. To learn more about this, click here.
Default Job Admin permissions
By default, a user who is assigned to a job as a Job Admin will have the following visibility and access available on that job, regardless of their Job Admin level on the job:
- Can see the job's dashboard, pipeline, and reports
- Can see all candidates on the job
- Can add and edit candidates and referrals
- Can be assigned hiring team roles
These built-in permissions cannot be edited or removed.
A user configured with a Job Admin user permission level will have the permissions noted above only on jobs to which they explicitly are assigned. A user with a Job Admin user permission level will not have any access to or permissions on jobs to which they are not assigned.
Additional Job Admin permissions
|Can edit job info
Allows the user to edit information on the Job Info tab.
|Can delete jobs
Allows the user to delete a closed job from the job's dashboard. This permission stripe can be granted to a Job Admin level only if that Job Admin level also includes the permission stripe for 'Can edit job info.'
|Can create, edit, and delete job posts
Allows the user to create new job posts, and edit or delete existing job posts. A Job Admin without this permission can still view the Job Post page, but the only action available to the user on this page is to generate tracking links.
|Can change job posts status
Allows the user to toggle job post status between Off and Live, impacting the visibility of a job post on your job board.
|Can edit forms
Allows the user to create and make changes to forms.
|Can configure scorecard attributes
Allows the user to see the job's scorecard page under the job > Job Setup tab > Scorecard. Users who can see this page can add and remove sections and attributes from the job’s scorecard.
|Can view candidate scorecards submitted by other users
Controls visibility to scorecards submitted by other users; can be set to Never, Always, or After submitting their own.
|Can edit interview plans
Allows the user to view the job's interview plan page. Users who can view this page can add, remove, and reorganize stages on the job; adjust milestones; and edit interview kits. The user-specific permission 'Can create new job stage names (Job Admin only)' further defines the access a Job Admin user has to edit interview plans.
|Can edit hiring teams
Allows the user to assign and unassign other users to/from Hiring Team roles, as long as those users have permissions on the job. Also allows the user to set a recruiter or coordinator as responsible for new candidates on the job. A Job Admin without this permission can view the hiring team page but will be unable to edit the roles.
|Can add and remove agencies from jobs
Allows the user to grant agency recruiters access to jobs, as well as remove agency recruiters from jobs.
|Can view and edit private candidate and application fields
Allows the user to view candidate fields and application fields marked as private. These fields appear on the candidate's profile under the Private tab. This permission also allows the user to request candidate background checks through third-party integrations that initiate the background check from the Private tab.
|Can view and create private notes
Allows the user to create private notes on a candidate profile or a candidate scorecard, and to view private notes created by other users.
|Can view and edit private job fields and approve/request approval on jobs
Allows the user to view custom job fields marked as private; these fields appear on a job > Job Info. Also allows the user to request approval to start recruiting and / or official job approval, and to be configured as a job approver.
|Can edit job approvals
Allows the user to edit the job's approval chain. Click here to learn more. This permission stripe can be granted to a Job Admin level only if that Job Admin level also includes the permission stripe for 'Can view and edit private job fields and approve / request approval on jobs.'
|Can view and edit offers and approve/request approval on offers
Allows the user to create and edit candidate offers, and to request offer approval. Also allows the user to be configured as an offer approver.
|Can edit offer approvals
Allows the user to edit the offer approvals chain for the job as well as for individual candidates on the job. Click here to learn more.
|Can advance candidates / prospects
Allows the user to move candidates to a new stage in an interview plan, or to move prospects to a new stage in a pool. Without this permission, the user will not be able to advance candidates at any point, including in the Application Review stage.
To learn more, click here.
|Can reject candidates / prospects
Allows the user to mark a candidate as rejected or choose Stop Considering as Prospect on a prospect. Without this permission, the user will not be able to reject candidates at any point, including in the Application Review stage.
To learn more, click here.
|Can email candidates / prospects
Allows the user to email candidates and prospects from Greenhouse Recruiting. Without this permission, the user will not see the option to email a candidate or prospect available on their profile. To learn more, click here.
|Can create and view private candidates / prospects
Allows the user to mark existing candidates as private, as well as view private candidates. To learn more, click here.
|Can merge candidates and prospects
Allows the user to manually merge duplicate profiles for both candidates and prospects.To learn more, click here.
|Can add and remove users to their assigned jobs
Allows the user to assign other Job Admin users to the job. A user with this permission cannot assign another user to a Job Admin level which includes permission stripes the assigning user's own Job Admin level does not include.
|Can create, edit, and delete Stage Transition rules
Allows the user to create and manage stage transition rules.
|Can create, edit, and delete Company Goals
Allows the user to create, edit, and delete company goals.
|Can create, edit, and delete organization report templates
Allows the user to create, edit, and delete organization report templates.
|Can see demographics reports
To learn more about Job Admin levels, check out the following articles: