Permissions:

Product tier: Available for Expert subscription tier with HRIS Link add-on

HRIS Link interacts with Greenhouse Recruiting and your HRIS to programmatically update information from your HRIS to Greenhouse Recruiting. Because HRIS Link is a dynamic integration, any updates to Greenhouse Recruiting offices, departments, or custom fields should be handled with care to preserve both the integration and your historical data.

In this article:

Sunsetting custom job fields

HRIS Link supports custom job fields which allow you to capture data custom to your jobs in a standardized format. You can read more about using custom job fields with HRIS Link here.

Over time, you may need to replace or sunset an existing custom job field. This is typically done when there's a need to switch from one field type to another.

Example: The Eucalyptus org uses the custom job field "Cost Center," but the organization no longer wants the field type to be short textbox and instead wants to use the field type single-select.

Instead of fully deleting legacy fields, when sunsetting custom job fields, we recommend that you update the name of the legacy custom job field so you can distinguish it from the new custom job field you'll create. Maintaining the legacy field allows you to continue to report on the field, as you cannot report on fully deleted custom fields.

Example: To differentiate between a legacy field and a new custom job field, Eucalyptus changes the name of their original custom job field from "Cost Center" to "Cost Center - Legacy."

Since custom job field values will still appear on jobs where a value had previously been entered, before removing or sunsetting legacy fields in Greenhouse Recruiting, if the custom job field is marked as Required, remove this setting in Greenhouse Recruiting so the field is optional.

Best-practices_Un-required.png

Next, review existing template jobs used with HRIS Link to ensure that legacy custom job field values are removed from the legacy field, and that new field values are added to the new version of the field.

Example: In our example, values are removed from 'Cost Center - Legacy' field on all template jobs, and values are added for the new field 'Cost Center.'

Best-practices_Custom-job-fields-legacy.png

Note: If legacy custom job field values are left in place on template jobs, HRIS Link will copy over those fields to new jobs created from the templates.

If the custom job field is being used in offer and email templates as a token, transfer the token from the legacy field to the new field. You can do this by unchecking Create new email token (optional) option on the legacy field, while copying the token (in our example, "COST_CENTER") over to the new custom job field.

Sunsetting offices and departments

HRIS Link supports office and department syncing from your HRIS to Greenhouse Recruiting. In the event that you need to delete an office or department, there are some important considerations to note.

You can sunset a legacy office or department while maintaining the entity in Greenhouse Recruiting for reporting purposes. Generate an All jobs summary report to see which jobs are currently allocated to which offices and departments in your cleanup, then add any new office or departments and re-assign the jobs to the new offices or departments.

If you'd like to maintain your legacy office or department for reporting purposes, rename the entity to reflect that it shouldn't be used. We recommend using the naming convention "Z-DO NOT USE [Department Name]" so the legacy department will appear at the bottom of any search / dropdown options in Greenhouse Recruiting. You could also consider creating a "Z-DO NOT USE" parent department to host any departments you're deprecating.

Best-practices_Do-not-use.png

Note: Offices and departments will only appear on Greenhouse-powered job boards if there are open jobs with live job posts assigned to those offices or departments.

If you intend to delete an office or department entirely, make sure the entity isn't needed for legacy reporting. We do not recommend removing offices or departments entirely as you cannot report on existing jobs that had been assigned to those offices or departments.

When deleting an office or department, Greenhouse Recruiting will prompt you to re-assign all jobs assigned to the office or department to another existing office or department.

Best-practices_Delete-entirely.png

Note: Deleting an office or department in Greenhouse Recruiting cannot be undone!

After editing any offices or departments, be sure to review your careers page to make sure changes have been reflected accurately. You may need to work with the development team who manages your website to make changes.

In Greenhouse Recruiting, update any user's permissions that are dependent on offices or departments that have been changed. And finally, create and apply any new office or department-specific job or offer approval chains as needed.