Manager access provides greater visibility and control for your managers so they can be more hands-on in your organization's onboarding plan. Manager access is granted in addition to the default employee access for users who have been selected as a manager for another employee.
Assign manager permissions
Configure manager permissions
You can update the default access permissions for all managers in your organization on the Permissions page.
Navigate to Settings > Data Flow > Permissions.
Scroll down to the Default Access panel and click Edit next to Manager Additional Access.
Your organization can configure the following administrative permissions for managers.
- Can manage employee documents and signature requests – allows managers to view and manage their employees' documents and signature requests
- Can only view the tasks that have been assigned to direct reports – allows managers view-only access to their direct reports' onboarding tasks
- Can view and edit tasks that have been assigned to direct reports – allows managers to view and edit tasks in their direct reports' employee profiles
Customize manager access to employee fields
Your organization can also configure the employee fields that managers have access to view or edit for their direct reports.
Each field permission is made up of two types of access:
- Can Edit for Direct Reports – managers can update the field for their direct reports
- Can View for Direct Reports – managers can only view the field on their employee's profile
You may want a manager to see an employee field but not be able to update this information themselves. For example, you can allow a manager to view the Date of Termination field, but only allow Owners and Coordinators to update the value.
For this configuration, select the Can View for Direct Reports box only. Leave the Can Edit for Direct Reports checkbox unchecked.
View and edit
Select both checkboxes to allow managers to see and edit an employee field.
Employee fields that managers have access to edit will be included in that user's manager form.
Uncheck both boxes to keep a field completely hidden from managers.