Permissions: Site Admin who can see private notes, salary info, manage offers, request approval, and approve jobs/offers, and Job Admin who can create and view private candidates / prospects, and who can advance candidates / prospects

Product tier: Available to all subscription tiers

In some cases, it may be necessary to unhire a candidate who was previously marked as hired. Unhiring a candidate is often used to correct offer mistakes then rehire, or to reject a candidate who declined a previously extended offer. In this article, we will discuss:

How to unhire

To unhire a candidate, navigate to the candidate profile, and select Unhire at the top.

Unhire_a_candidate.png

Note: If the job requires Offer Approvals, they will retrigger on rehiring the candidate.

Once unhired, correct any offer details then rehire the candidate, or reject the candidate as necessary. For more information on unhiring to rehire a candidate, see General considerations.

Cases where users cannot select the unhire button

In some cases, you may see the unhire button greyed out. Hover over the button for more information.

Unhire_greyed_out.png

Candidates cannot be unhired on closed jobs with job approvals. To correct this, navigate to Job Setup and select Job Info to change the Job Status from Closed to Open. Select Save. Once complete, return to the hired candidate profile, and select Unhire.

Note: Reopening a closed job with job approvals will retrigger the job approval flow. Additionally, it will create a new opening on the job under the Approvals tab. If you're unhiring a candidate to rehire the same candidate, it may be necessary to manually delete this new opening. Read more under General considerations.

With the candidate unhired, correct any offer details, or reject the candidate as necessary. 

General considerations

If you are unhiring a candidate with the intent to rehire the same candidate, there may be potential impacts to consider.

  • By default, rehiring a previously unhired candidate will make the candidate's hired date the date of the rehire. Time to hire reports and other metrics may be impacted by the new hired date on your rehire. Read more about impacts and workflows here.
  • Jobs with Job Approvals will need to be reopened in order to unhire. This will create a new opening on the job under the Approvals tab. Read more about impacts and workflows here.

Hired Date

The accepted date on an offer and the hired date for a candidate will always match. If necessary, you can manually adjust the unhired/rehired candidate's offer accepted date to mitigate reporting impacts.

After unhiring and rehiring the candidate, click Offer Details on the left side of the candidate profile.

Offer_Details.png

Find the offer version accepted by your candidate, and click Edit edit.png beside the Accepted Date

Accepted_date.png

Adjust the date to match the candidate's original offer accepted date, then click Save. The hired date should now show the updated date as well.

Openings

If necessary, you can manually delete any additional openings created by reopening a closed job to unhire/rehire a candidate. 

After unhiring and rehiring the candidate, navigate to Job Setup, then select Job Info. Select Edit edit.png beside Job Status to change the status from Open to Closed. Select Save.

Next, navigate to the job's Approvals tab, and select Edit Job & Openings

Edit_Job_and_openings.png

On the subsequent page, scroll to the Openings section and find the opening created by reopening the job. Select the Ellipsis icon ellipsis.png beside the opening and click Delete

Delete_opening.png

A pop-up screen will ask that you confirm this action by clicking Delete Opening.