How can we help you?

Default Access (Employee Access)

GHO_Permissions_and_Product_Tier.png

Greenhouse Onboarding provides a default access tier for all employees in your organization. Generally, this tier determines which employee fields a user not assigned an administrative or custom role can view and edit. Unless a user is given an administrative or custom role, all users in Greenhouse Onboarding will automatically inherit view and/or edit access to employee fields configured in this tier. 

Additionally, this tier acts as the default employee field permission for administrative and custom roles unless configured otherwise. In this article we will cover the various configurations you can set up for every employee field:

To edit the default access to employee fields, navigate to the Default Access panel on the Permissions page and click Edit next to Employee Access.

Screen_Shot_2018-11-10_at_2.51.39_PM.png

From the Default Access for Employees page, configure the default permissions for each employee field by placing a check under the appropriate column.

Note: Employee fields marked with a red asterisk denote that an onboarding employee is required to provide that value during their onboarding process. 

Screen_Shot_2018-11-10_at_3.31.25_PM.png

 

Can Edit for Oneself

Screen_Shot_2018-11-10_at_3.19.36_PM.png

By placing a check under the Can Edit for Oneself column, you are allowing all employees to see and edit the specific employee field on their own user accounts.

When an employee field only has Can Edit for Oneself applied, employees cannot view or edit the field on another user's account. For example, while you may want to give an employee the ability to edit their own social security number, you would not want to make this field publicly available for everyone in your organization.

Note: To make an employee field both editable on one's own account and viewable on another employee's account, select Can Edit for Oneself and Public.

 

Public

Screen_Shot_2018-11-10_at_3.22.28_PM.png

By placing a check under the Public column, you are allowing employees to discover and view the field on each others user accounts.

When an employee field only has Public applied, employees can view the field on each another's user accounts but cannot actually edit the information for their own account. For example, while you may allow employees to view the Managers for each other, you might not want employees to edit who their Managers are in the system.

Note: To make an employee field both editable on one's own account and viewable on another employee's account, select Can Edit for Oneself and Public. 

 

Hidden from Employee

Screen_Shot_2018-11-10_at_4.39.38_PM.png

If an employee field has neither Can Edit for Oneself nor Public selected, the field is neither viewable nor editable for one's own account. The field is completely hidden from the employee and unless they are given additional roles through Greenhouse Onboarding they will not know the field exists.

Generally, this state for employee fields is reserved for purely administrative fields that the average employee will not need to access such as Date of Termination.