Job Admin levels are defined sets of permissions that are granted to Job Admin users on a per-job basis, and permission stripes are the individual permissions that can be assigned to or removed from each Job Admin level. In this article, we will discuss the implications of the Can merge candidates and prospects permission stripe.
To learn more about configuring Job Admin levels and view a full list of available permission stripes, please see the following Help Center articles:
- Edit or Delete Job Admin Level
- Create New Job Admin Level
- Job Admin: Custom
- Job Admin Levels and Permission Stripes
Note: Only organizations with an Advanced or Expert subscription can customize the permissions associated with Job Admin levels. Organizations with an Essential subscription cannot edit existing Job Admin levels or create custom Job Admin levels.
The Can merge candidates and prospects permission stripe allows Job Admins to merge duplicate profiles for both candidates and prospects. In order to merge profiles, a Job Admin must have the exact same Job Admin level on both profiles.
Example: If a Job Admin attempts to merge Candidate 1 (on Job A) with Candidate 2 (on Job B), the Job Admin must be assigned the same Job Admin level on both Job A and Job B to complete the merge successfully. If a Job Admin attempts a merge where they do not have the same permissions for every profile, they will receive an error message warning they lack sufficient permissions to complete the action.
Depending on the number of users who will be merging candidates and prospects, your team might consider creating a custom Job Admin level called Job Admin: Merge so you can ensure the users responsible for cleaning up duplicates always are assigned this level.