How can we help you?

Deactivate Users in Bulk

all_tiers.png

In order to preserve your organization's historical data, you are unable to completely delete users from your Greenhouse Recruiting account. Rather than deleting users, Greenhouse Recruiting allows your organization to deactivate users' accounts so the users can no longer access your system or be assigned any responsibilities. In this article, we will cover: 

  

Deactivate Users in Bulk

To deactivate multiple user accounts simultaneously, click the Configure icon Configure.png in the upper-right hand corner and select Users from the left-hand panel.

Screen_Shot_2020-02-27_at_10.27.53_AM.png

From the Users page, use the filters at the top of the page to narrow down your list of users if applicable, then click the Bulk Actions button.

Screen_Shot_2020-02-27_at_1.40.56_PM.png

Select the users you wish to edit. This can be done in one of two ways:

  • Click the checkboxes to the left of the user names, or
  • Click the Quick Select button to search for users by name or email address

If you prefer to select users from the provided list, click the checkbox to the left of each user who will be deactivated in your bulk action. When finished selecting users, click Edit Selected (#).

Edit_Selected.png

If you prefer to select users by searching for name or email address, click the Quick Select button instead.

Quick_Select.png

In the Quick Select dialog box, type or paste the user names or email addresses you wish to deactivate in your Bulk Action. If any names or email addresses are entered which do not match existing users, they will be skipped. When finished entering users, click Edit Selected (#).

Quick_Select_Edit_Selected.png

Once you have selected your users through one of the methods above, you will be directed to the Edit # Users dialog box. In this dialog box, click Disable Users.

mceclip0.png

A dialog box will ask you to confirm the deactivation. Click Disable.

mceclip1.png

To learn how to re-enable a deactivated user, click here.

 

Deactivated Users' Historical Data

Any responsibilities assigned to the deactivated users will be recorded and preserved as historical data in your Greenhouse Recruiting account. This historical data is represented by a strikethrough in a user's name wherever that user had responsibilities.

Screen_Shot_2019-04-18_at_1.58.11_PM.png

In the above example, the user was once an offer approver on this specific job. Once deactivated, the user's name still appears as it did previously, but now with a strikethrough in their name.