Once a candidate is in your organization's system, there are two distinct ways of moving that candidate to another job's pipeline: adding the candidate to another job and transferring the candidate to a different job. In this article, we will detail the various differences between these two features and explore the implications regarding the candidate's historical data.
Note: Candidates can only be added or transferred to a job where the user has appropriate permissions. The Remove Job action in the Add, Transfer or Remove Candidate's Jobs modal can be used only by Site Admins.
Adding a candidate to another job creates a new application for the new job. The candidate will go through both interview plans simultaneously and your organization can retain all historical candidate data for both jobs.
Unlike adding a candidate to another job, transferring a candidate to a different job means that the candidate will be removed from the original job and moved to a job. This process will consequently mean a deprecation of certain candidate data points associated with the original job. Greenhouse Recruiting typically recommends this action only when the candidate is mistakenly associated with the wrong job.
When candidates are transferred to a different job, the following data will be transferred from the old job to the new job:
- Application questions
- Submitted scorecards
The following information will be deleted during the transfer:
- Records of candidate being on the old job in reports
- Scheduled interviews
- Interview information for scorecards pending submission
- Job-specific forms