Permissions: Site Admins

Product tier: Available for Advanced and Expert subscription tier

Greenhouse Recruiting allows your organization to automatically assign users job-based permissions on future jobs. In some cases, your team might wish to assign job-based permissions to a group of users on all future jobs except those in a specified Office and/or Department.

Example: Your organization might choose to grant members of your Recruiting team permissions on most new jobs automatically, but want to limit which users have permissions on People team jobs, as new hires on the People team will be your Recruiters' direct peers. 
Using the Exclude permissions function option when creating permission rules, you can easily remove users from those future jobs. 

Click here for more information on creating permission rules. 

Note: We're making some improvements to bulk assigning job-based permissions, and rolling them out to organizations soon. The information in this article covers new functionality and may not match organizations using the older version. 

Create a rule to exclude job permissions

Click the Configure icon Configure.png in the upper right corner and select Users on the left panel.

Configure_-_Users.png

Use the filters at the top of the page to narrow down your list of users.

Filters_at_users_page.png

Click Bulk Actions

Bulk_Actions.png

Select the users you wish to edit by selecting the checkboxes in the left column. You can click Select All to check all the boxes. 

Checkboxes_for_users.png

Note: You can quickly locate users by selecting Quick Select and locating the users by name or email address. You can also paste a list of users in this field if each email address or name is separated by a comma.

Quick_Select.png

When all the users are selected, click Edit Selected

Edit_Selected.png

Select Add and remove permissions by rules from the pop-up window.

Edit_users_-_Add_and_remove_by_rule.png

Select an office or department level from the dropdown menu, and choose Exclude permissions from the permission dropdown menu. 

Rule_Text_Retake.png

To exclude the group of users from multiple sets of job-based permissions, click Add rule

Add_rule_Retake.png

Note: You can only define additional rules after the first one is created. 

Select Notify user of new permission via email to send the selected users a message when the rules are saved.

Notify_Users_Retake_2.png

Notes:

  • You can exclude users from permissions on current jobs by selecting Current and future jobs from the dropdown menu. This option will only be available if the users have already been given job-based permissions. 
  • It is not possible to exclude permissions on all future jobs. The Exclude permissions option will appear only when assigning future job permissions in a specified Office and/or Department.

When you're finished, click Save. The bulk permissions rule will run in the background and notify you at the bottom of the page when it is finished.

Notification.png

If you need to assign excluded users permissions in an Office and/or Department where you have excluded future permissions, you can manually assign them using the job-based permissions process