How can we help you?

Edit User Permission Level

2_line_3.41.17_PM.png

You might find it necessary to edit a user's permission level, such as changing a user from a Site Admin to a Job Admin / Interviewer, or from a Basic user to a Job Admin / Interviewer. In this article, we will cover: 

 

How to Edit a User Permission Level 

Note: Downgrading a user's permission level will impact a user's access to jobs, which can affect notifications the user has enabled, as well as carry job- and candidate-level implications. For more information about the potential impacts of downgrading a user's permission level, please review the Impacts of Removing User Permissions section of this article.

To edit a user's assigned permission level, navigate to the Configure icon Configure.png in the upper right-hand corner, then click Users in the left-hand panel. 

Configure_-_Users.png

Click the name of the user whose permission level you wish to edit, then find the Permissions panel. Click Edit at the top-right corner of the Permissions panel. 

Kevin.png

Select the new user permission level to be assigned to the user, then click Save at the bottom of the page to confirm the change. 

mceclip0.png

Note: When editing a user's permission level, you can only assign a user a permission level that has no greater permissions than what you have on that job. This means a Job Admin user editing another user's permission level cannot assign that user as a Site Admin, nor can they assign the user a Job Admin level which includes permission stripes not included in the assigning user's own Job Admin level. 

As a next step, you might choose to assign user-specific permissions or job-based permissions to the user. To learn more about assigning these permissions, see the following Help Center articles: 

 

Impacts of Removing User Permissions

Downgrading or removing user permissions will impact a user's access to jobs, which can affect notifications the user has enabled, as well as carry job- and candidate-level implications. 

Example: As a Site Admin, a user has access to all of your organization's jobs, and can be assigned Hiring Team roles for any of those jobs. If the user is downgraded to a Job Admin user type, they will have access only to jobs where they are explicitly granted Job Admin permissions.

Let's say a Site Admin user, John, was configured as a Recruiter on the Mid-Market Account Manager job, but later was downgraded to a Job Admin. After John was changed to a Job Admin, he was not assigned a Job Admin level on the Mid-Market Account Manager job. As a result, John will be removed from the job's Hiring Team, and will not be able to access the candidates where he was assigned as the Recruiter. John's name will appear with a strikethrough on the job's Hiring Team page, as well as on the candidate's profile > Details tab > Recruiter field. Any notifications for the job configured to be sent to a candidate's assigned Recruiter will no longer be sent to John. 

There are four locations where a user will be preserved when they are removed from a job where they had responsibilities: 

  • Hiring Team roles
  • Candidate/Prospect Recruiter or Coordinator assignment
  • Notifications
  • Approvals (available for Advanced and Expert subscription tiers)

 

Hiring Team Roles 

When a user’s permission on a job is removed: If the removed user was marked as Responsible for new applications as Recruiter or Coordinator, they will be removed from being responsible.

Recruiters.png 

They will remain visible on that job with a strikethrough across their name to indicate they no longer have permissions on that job. A user with a Hiring Team role on a job but no permission on the job will not be able to access the job or see tasks associated with it.

If that user is given permissions to the job again: The strikethrough will disappear and the user will be able to access the job. However, they will not automatically be set as responsible for new applications again.

Candidate/Prospect Recruiter or Coordinator assignment

When a user’s permission on a job the candidate is attached to is removed: Removed users will still show up on the candidate's Details tab with a strikethrough across their name, but they will not be able to view candidates for this job. Any tasks or notifications associated with this candidate and job will not show up on that user’s Dashboard or the user's My Tasks widget.

Responsibility.png

If that user is given permissions to the job again: The strikethrough will disappear and the user will be able to access the candidate. Historic tasks or notifications will be visible again.

Notifications

When a user’s permission on a job is removed: Removed users will still show up on the Email Notifications page for each job with a strikethrough across their name, but these users will no longer receive these email notifications.

Notifications.png

If that user is given permissions to the job again: The strikethrough will disappear, and notifications will begin sending again.

Approvals

When a user’s permission on a job is removed: Removed users will still show up on the Approvals page for each job or the Offer Details page for each candidate with a strikethrough across their name. However, these users will not receive any emails when an approval is requested and they will not see these pending approvals on their Approvals tab.

approvals.png

If that user is given permissions to the job again: The strikethrough will disappear, any outstanding approvals will show up on the user's Approvals tab, and any new approvals requested will be sent via email.