How can we help you?

Assign Job-Based Permission to Users in Bulk

Job_Admin___Site_Admin.png

Greenhouse Recruiting allows your organization to assign job-based permissions to multiple users at the same time. In this article, will cover:

 

Assign Job-Based Permissions to Users in Bulk

To assign job-based permissions in bulk, click the Configure icon Configure.png in the upper right-hand corner and navigate to Users on the left-hand panel.

Configure_-_Users.png

Use the filters at the top of the page to narrow down your list of users if applicable, then click the Bulk Actions button. 

mceclip0.png

Select the users you wish to edit by clicking the checkbox to the left of their names. Click Edit Selected (#) when finished.

All_Users.png

In the Edit # Users dialog box, click Add and Remove Job Permissions.

mceclip2.png

Click Add and Remove Job Permissions in the subsequent dialog box. 

mceclip3.png

Note: Job-based permissions cannot be added to or removed from Site Admins. If you selected Site Admin users in the previous step, those users will be skipped during the bulk update and no changes will be made to their user permissions. 

To assign the selected users permissions on individual jobs, click Edit inline with the name of the job where you wish to make the change.

mceclip0.png

A dropdown will appear. Choose the permission level you wish to assign from the dropdown. Repeat this step for each job where you wish to assign user permissions. When finished, click Done at the bottom of the Add and Remove Permissions dialog box. 

mceclip1.png

Alternatively, to assign the selected users permissions on all jobs listed on the page, click the Mark all as: dropdown at the top of the page, and then select the permission level you wish to assign the users. When finished, click Done at the bottom of the Add and Remove Permissions dialog box. 

mceclip2.png

Note: If the selected users have permissions on Future Jobs, those permissions will not be impacted by this bulk action on all jobs. Changes to permissions on Future Jobs will be skipped.

You also can assign a permission level on future jobs to the selected users by clicking Edit inline with All Future Jobs at the top of the jobs list. The users will be automatically assigned the selected permission on all future jobs. When finished, click Done at the bottom of the Add and Remove Permissions dialog box. To learn more about assigning job-based permissions on future jobs, click here

mceclip2.png

Once you have selected your intended changes, In the Edit Job Permissions (# Users) dialog box, confirm the listed permissions are correct, then click Save Permissions

mceclip3.png

From the subsequent dialog box, click Save Permissions again to confirm. 

mceclip4.png

 

Assign Job-Based Permissions for More Than 30 Users

If you attempt to add or remove job-based user permissions for 30 or more users at a time, you will be prompted to type in the number of users you selected to edit before you can save and execute the change. 

mceclip7.png

 

Bulk Assignment Rules

Below are rules that govern which job-based permissions can be granted based on the assigner's own permission level.

Job Admin

If the assigner in the bulk action is a user with Job Admin level permissions, they can:

  • Only assign users to a job where the assigner has Job Admin level permissions
  • Only assign users to a permissions level that does not exceed that of the assigner

Site Admin 

If the assigner in the bulk action is a user with Site Admin level permissions, they can:

  • Assign users to any job within the organization
  • Assign users to the permission level used to filter them into a list