Reassign task

2_by_2.png

Tasks are assignable actions performed by either New Hires and/or select members of your organization as part of a New Hire's Onboarding Plan. In this article, we will cover how to: 

 

Manually Reassign Task

To reassign a task manually, navigate to the New Hire profile that contains the task to be reassigned. Click the Tasks tab. 

2.png

From the Tasks view, click the task to be reassigned. 

3.png

From the Task detail dialog box, click Edit Task.

4.png

From the Edit Task dialog box, click the Assigned To dropdown to select a new assignee. Tasks can be assigned to either a specific employee or a Coworker field. 

Note: If you reassign a task to a Coworker field that is not populated on the New Hire's profile, no user will be notified of or assigned to the task. 

5.png

Click Save edits when finished.

The Task detail dialog box will reflect the new assignee. 

6.png

The new assignee will be notified of the task assignment by email. 

 

Automatically Reassign Task via Coworker Field

Note: A user with a Custom Access Role who can edit a given Coworker field can change the user assigned to the Coworker field. This, in turn, reassigns any tasks assigned through that Coworker field.

When an Onboarding Plan is created, or when a task is added directly to a New Hire's profile later, you can select to assign a task to a Coworker field, such as Manager. This assigns the task to the user who is listed as the New Hire's Manager. 

7.png 9.png

Updating the Coworker field on a New Hire's profile will automatically reassign any tasks from the originally listed user to the updated user. 

Note: Updating the Coworker field only reassigns tasks that were assigned through the Coworker field. Tasks assigned directly to the original user will not be reassigned.

Example: In the images above, the organization has assigned the user Jesse Cash as this New Hire's Manager in the applicable Coworker field. Any tasks in the Onboarding Plan assigned to the Manager Coworker field will be assigned to Jesse Cash (Manager). The parenthetical Manager indicates the tasks were assigned through the Manager coworker field, rather than assigned directly to Jesse as a user.

10.png

If the Manager Coworker field for this New Hire is later changed to the user Andrew Dunlap, any tasks assigned to this Coworker field will be reassigned from Jesse to Andrew. Andrew will be notified of the newly assigned tasks by email.

11.png

Any tasks already completed by the user originally assigned to the Coworker field will appear as completed tasks in the updated user's Tasks view. Reassigned tasks will no longer be viewable by the originally assigned user. 

12.png

Clicking into a completed task will indicate the originally assigned user completed the task.

13.png

Note: If a Coworker field is left blank on a New Hire's profile, tasks assigned to that Coworker field will be unassigned. Adding a user to the Coworker field later will assign all applicable tasks to that user automatically. This can help automate your team's workflow in cases where you assign a Coworker to a New Hire after the Onboarding Plan is created.