What do I do if there are two records in Greenhouse for the same candidate?

Users with Site Admin permissions can merge duplicate candidate profiles.  Additionally, if your team has configurable job admin permissions, any Job Admin permission levels that include the permission "Can merge candidates and prospects" will also be able to merge candidates.  There are a few ways to do this:

Via the Candidate Profile Page

If another candidate exists in the system with the same name or email address, you will see an alert on the candidate profile page letting you know that the candidate is likely a duplicate.  Within that alert (on the upper right side of the profile), you can click to merge the duplicate profiles.  You will need to designate the Primary profile.  All activities, comments, and files from the Duplicate profile will be moved to the Primary profile.

Please note:  it is not possible to undo a merge.

Screen_Shot_2017-08-31_at_4.36.47_PM.png

It is possible that the system overlooks a duplicate.  If that is the case, you can merge the candidate by clicking Merge this candidate under Tools on the candidate profile page.

Please note:  it is not possible to undo a merge.

Screen_Shot_2017-08-31_at_4.37.32_PM.png

Via App Review

If another candidate exists in the system with the same name or email address, you will see an alert when viewing the candidate's application in App Review letting you know that the candidate is likely a duplicate.  Within that alert, you can click to view candidate profile page of the existing candidate.  Use either of the two above methods to merge the duplicate candidate profiles.

Please note:  it is not possible to undo a merge.

Screen_Shot_2017-08-31_at_4.40.52_PM.png

Via Candidates Tab (Bulk Merge)

From the Candidates page, users with Site Admin permissions can now click the Bulk Actions button to merge multiple duplicates at once.  Here are the steps to take:

  • Click the Candidates tab
  • Click the Bulk Actions button
  • Either select specific candidate profiles from the list, or use the filters to narrow your search and then click Select All
  • After your selection is made, click Edit Selected
  • Click Merge
  • Choose which candidate profile should serve as the Primary, and then click the Merge Candidate button to merge the Duplicate profiles into the designated Primary profile

Please note:  it is not possible to undo a merge.

Screen_Shot_2017-08-31_at_4.45.51_PM.png

Screen_Shot_2017-08-31_at_4.46.17_PM.png

Have more questions? Submit a request