Removing a User’s Permission

Occasionally, you might find it necessary to remove or downgrade a user’s permissions from certain jobs. To remove or downgrade a user’s permissions, navigate to that specific user from the Greenhouse dashboard by clicking Configure >Users>Name of the User. From this page, you can see the current permission levels for this individual user.

Underneath Permissions, click on Edit and set the downgraded permission level for this user and click Save to confirm the change.

 

Once a user is downgraded, permissions can be manually added to specific jobs by clicking Add under Job-Based Permissions.

 

Screen_Shot_2017-12-01_at_9.44.19_AM.png

 

When users are removed from a job where they had responsibilities, they will be preserved in four locations:

  • Hiring Team roles
  • Candidate/Prospect Recruiter/Coordinator
  • Notifications
  • Approvals

Users who once held permissions in any of these four roles will continue to appear in those areas but with a strikethrough across their name even though they no longer have permissions on that job. Lets take a look at how removing or downgrading a user’s permissions can change these areas:

Hiring Team roles

When a user’s permission on a job is removed: If the removed user was marked as Responsible for new applications as Recruiter or Coordinator, they will be removed from being responsible.

They will remain visible on that job with a strikethrough across their name to note that they no longer have permissions on that job. Users with roles on jobs but no permission will not be able to access the job or see tasks associated with it.

If that user is given permissions to the job again: The strikethrough will go away and that user will be able to access the job. However, they will not automatically be set as responsible for new applications again.

Candidate/Prospect Recruiter/Coordinator

When a user’s permission on a job the candidate is attached to is removed: Removed users will still show up on the Details tab with a strikethrough across their name, but they will not be able to view candidates for this job. Any tasks or notifications associated with this candidate and job will not show up on that user’s dashboard or their My Tasks widget.

If that user is given permissions to the job again: The strikethrough will go away and that user will be able to access the candidate, and any old tasks or notifications will show up normally again.

Notifications

When a user’s permission on a job is removed: Removed users will still show up on the Email Notifications page for each job with a strikethrough across their name, but these users will no longer receive these email notifications.

If that user is given permissions to the job again: The strikethrough will go away and notifications will begin sending normally.

Approvals

When a user’s permission on a job is removed: Removed users will still show up on the Approvals page for each job or Offer Details page for each candidate with a strikethrough across their name. However, these users will not receive any emails when an approval is requested and they will not see these pending approvals on their Approvals tab.

If that user is given permissions to the job again: The strikethrough will go away, any outstanding approvals will show up on the user's Approvals tab, and any new approvals requested will show up normally via email.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk